Statesville Fire Department Celebrates Employee Achievements

February 28, 2023

Statesville, North Carolina - The Statesville Fire Department held its annual awards banquet on February 24 at the Statesville Civic Center honoring 22 individuals for their achievements over the last year.

Statesville Mayor Costi Kutteh administered the oath of office to those that were hired and promoted in 2022:

  • New hires: Trey Lagle, Robert Bryden, Chase Anderson, and Jesse Church
  • Promotions: Fire Marshal Pete Morrison, Captain Matt Thompson, Captain Danny Fisher, Lieutenant Zachary Hinson, Lieutenant Justin Yox, Lieutenant Tanner Goodin, and Battalion Chief Aaron Kennedy

“I was pleased to attend the annual awards banquet for the Statesville Fire Department,” said Kutteh. “As I swore in Robert and the promoted firefighters, I was proud of the commitment and service of these fine individuals. We are one of eight North Carolina cities that are accredited and have an ISO-1 rating. This is a result of the hard work of the Statesville Fire Department.”

Also honored were retirees and those that completed Firefighter 1 and Master Firefighter designation in 2022:

  • Retirees: Firefighter Marshall Spillman and Battalion Chief Joshua Smith
  • Firefighter 1 designation: Bryan Morris, Coty Brown, Noah Armstrong, and Sam Speaks
  • Master Firefighter designation: Brett York, Zachary Hinson, Adam Sparks, Joseph Taylor, and Brandon McLain

Fire Chief Andy Weatherman thanked all personnel for their commitment to making the department what it is today and added that their hard work and dedication does not go unnoticed throughout the organization. He highlighted 2022 stating that the department answered over 5,300 calls for service, trained over and beyond the number of hours required for fire service professionals, broke ground on a new station, and joined 21 other elite agencies to achieve an ISO Class 1 insurance rating in North Carolina.

Statesville Mayor Costi Kutteh (right) administers the oath of office to Firefighter Robert Bryden (left).

Promotions (left to right): Lieutenant Justin Yox, Captain Danny Fisher, Lieutenant Zachary Hinson, Captain Matt Thompson, Battalion Chief Aaron Kennedy, Fire Marshal Pete Morrison

Firefighter 1 Designation (left to right): Coty Brown, Bryan Morris

Master Firefighter Designation (left to right): Jacob Bell, Scott Mitchell, Adam Sparks, Joseph Taylor, Zachary Hinson

Chief Andy Weatherman (left) presents retired Firefighter Marshall Spillman with a plaque featuring a firefighter ax.

About the City of Statesville

The City of Statesville is truly a diverse community that welcomes new people, new voices and ideas, new industry, and business. We have already made significant investments in our downtown amenities, our business sector, our schools, our infrastructure, and more is on the horizon. We are creating a dynamic future for ourselves as we build on our successful history and the positive energy we experience today, all the while incorporating the values and quality of life that we cherish. To learn more visit

Originally posted by City of Statesville via Locable